HA:TFELT (핫펠트)


HA:TFELT was the Star Close-up in the Kpoppin studio this week with DJ Isak. HA:TFELT (핫펠트) is a member the the Wonder Girls, and made her solo debut in 2014 under JYPE.

About the music::
This solo album is very much about herself. She drew a lot of her inspiration from the things around her, and from movies. Track 1, ‘Iron Girl’ featuring Lim (from the Wonder Girls), was inspired by Iron Man 3, and answer the question of ” what makes iron girl iron girl? is it the suit? or the girl inside the suit?” HA:TFELT mentioned that Lim’s lyrics in this song make her want to cry. Track 3, ‘Ain’t Nobody’ is a song with a wide range of emotions. To match that She went with Contemporary dance so she could put all those emotions into the choreography as well. The song is literally saying “Ain’t nobody gonna love you like I do.” She wanted this song to be down to earth, real, and emotionally raw. Track 4, ‘Bond’ featuring Beenzino, was inspired by James Bond and features the James Bond theme song hidden in the background music. She describes the song as a sexy track with a slow groove. Track 7, ‘다운 (Nothing Lasts Forever)’ is about one of her fans, its all bout him and his story.


– HA:TFELT is also known as Ye Eun (예은) and Yenny (English name).
– She has been working on her solo album stuff for about three years.
– She would like to have a solo concert.
– HA:TFELT thinks her forehead is the most attractive part of her body, she says others say its too broad, but she thinks it is pretty.
– She would like to collaborate with Frank Ocean.
– She likes to learn all different types of languages.
– Her forever dream has been to perform at Madison Square Garden. She would also like to perform at the Dallas House of Blues, and the Los Angeles Staples Center.


Q & A::
Q: Why the name HA:TFELT? How did you come up with it?
A: She has been working as a song writer under the name H:RTFELT, and decided to just use that as her solo artist stage name as well. She wanted a name that was unique to her and separately identified Ye Eun/ HA:TFELT from Wonder Girl’s Yenny. She notice that in England they sometimes spell heartfelt as hartfelt and she liked that. She ran the name past JYP, and he said she should trick the wording a bit. So, she took hartfelt, and gave it the cologne style spelling of HA:TFELT.

Q: How did the company react to your reinventing yourself as HA:TFELT,and more authoritative about your music?
A: At first the people in her company were not to sure about this new Ye Eun, and were not giving her positive feedback. it came down to her having to talk to everyone individually and explaining how she felt about her music, and what her music was about.

Q: What genre would you put yourself in?
A: Deep soul. which is her own unique combination of R&B, Jazz, Pop, Rock, Dub, and Soul.

Q: Future plans?
A: She wants to show more HA:TFELT, and have her music better known, and to do more collaborations. She will also be starting on her next album after she finishes with Me? promotions.

Live Performance::
Ain’t Nobody

%d bloggers like this: